Skip to content

Content Repository configuration

You can define several Repositories within a single application. However, you can only use one per site.

Repository connection

Using default values

To use the default Repository connection, you do not need to specify its details:

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
ezpublish:
    repositories:
        # Defining Repository with alias "main"
        # Default storage engine is used, with default connection
        # Equals to:
        # main: { storage: { engine: legacy, connection: <defaultConnectionName> } }
        main: ~

Legacy storage engine

Legacy storage engine is the default storage engine for the Repository.

It uses Doctrine DBAL (Database Abstraction Layer). Database settings are supplied by DoctrineBundle. As such, you can refer to DoctrineBundle's documentation.

If no Repository is specified for a SiteAccess or SiteAccess group, the first Repository defined under ezpublish.repositories will be used:

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
ezpublish:
    repositories:
        main: ~
    system:
        # All members of site_group will use "main" Repository
        # No need to set "repository", it will take the first defined Repository by default
        site_group:
            # ...

Defining custom connection

You can also explicitly define a custom Repository connection:

 1
 2
 3
 4
 5
 6
 7
 8
 9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
doctrine:
    dbal:
        default_connection: my_connection_name
        connections:
            my_connection_name:
                driver:   pdo_mysql
                host:     localhost
                port:     3306
                dbname:   my_database
                user:     my_user
                password: my_password
                charset:  UTF8MB4

            another_connection_name:
                # ...

ezpublish:
    repositories:
        first_repository: { storage: { engine: legacy, connection: my_connection_name, config: {} } }
        second_repository: { storage: { engine: legacy, connection: another_connection_name, config: {} } }

    # ...

    system:
        my_first_siteaccess:
            repository: first_repository

        my_second_siteaccess:
            repository: second_repository

Field groups configuration

Field groups, used in content and Content Type editing, can be configured under the repositories key. Values entered there are Field group identifiers:

1
2
3
4
5
repositories:
    default:
        fields_groups:
            list: [content, features, metadata]
            default: content

These identifiers can be given human-readable values and can be translated. Those values are used when editing Content Types. The translation domain isĀ ezplatform_fields_groups. This example in app/Resources/translations/ezplatform_fields_groups.en.yml defines English names for Field groups:

1
2
3
content: Content
metadata: Metadata
user_data: User data

Limit of archived Content item versions

default_version_archive_limit controls the number of archived versions per Content item that are stored in the Repository. By default it is set to 5. This setting is configured in the following way (typically in ezplatform.yml):

1
2
3
4
5
ezpublish:
    repositories:
        default:
            options:
                default_version_archive_limit: 10

This limit is enforced on publishing a new version and only covers archived versions, not drafts.

Tip

Don't set default_version_archive_limit too high. In Legacy storage engine you will see performance degradation if you store too many versions. The default value of 5 is the recommended value, but the less content you have overall, the more you can increase this to, for instance, 25 or even 50.

Removing old versions

You can use the ezplatform:content:cleanup-versions command to remove old content versions.

The command takes the following optional parameters:

  • status or t - status of versions to remove: draft, archived or all
  • keep or k - number of versions to keep
  • user or u - the User that the command will be performed as. The User must have the content/remove, content/read and content/versionread Policies. By default the administrator user is applied.

ezplatform:content:cleanup-versions --status <status name> --keep <number of versions> --user <user name>

For example, the following command removes archived versions as user admin, but leaves the 5 most recent versions:

ezplatform:content:cleanup-versions --status archived --keep 5 --user administrator

User identifiers

ezplatform_default_settings.yml contains two settings that indicate which Content Types are treated like users and user groups:

1
2
3
4
5
ezpublish:
    system:
        default:
            user_content_type_identifier: ['user']
            user_group_content_type_identifier: ['user_group']

You can override these settings if you have other Content Types that should be treated as users/user groups in the Back Office. When viewing such Content in the Back Office you will be able to see e.g. the assigned Policies.

Read the Docs